Hyundai Thinks It Can Be The Biggest Provider Of EVs In Europe Through Its Ioniq Brand

Hyundai is looking to establish itself as a major player in Europe as far as electric mobility is concerned, and its new Ioniq EV brand should do the trick.

The Korean carmaker will kick things off in the region with three new fully-electric models, all of which will reportedly go on sale within the next four years. First in line will be the Ioniq 5, a mid-size crossover based on the Concept 45.

The Ioniq 5 will debut in Europe in the middle of next year, followed in 2022 by the Ioniq 6 sedan and the Ioniq 7 large SUV in 2024. All three models will sit on the carmaker’s new electric Global Modular Platform (e-GMP).

“In a relatively short span of time, we have the potential to become the biggest provider of EVs in Europe, especially with the new lineup of dedicated EV models under the new Ioniq brand,” said Hyundai Europe President and CEO, Michael Cole in an interview with Autonews Europe.

Cole based his prediction on an estimate that Hyundai will sell roughly 60,000 zero-emissions vehicles this year, at which point it would rank as one of the biggest players in Europe’s EV sector.

Hyundai decided to turn Ioniq into a stand-alone brand “in response to fast-growing market demand,” as well as to accelerate the carmaker’s push of leading the global EV market, which is a pretty massive goal.

Together with its sister brands Kia and Genesis, Hyundai aims to sell a combined 1 million battery-electric vehicles by 2025, which they believe will give them 10% of the global EV market.

Source: Carscoops

 


Tony Hartman Kok

Sales Manager
E: tony@garagecentraal.com
T: 730-3000
               


Johnny Milan

Senior Sales Associate
E: jmilan@garagecentraal.com
T: 593-3778
               


Demis Thielman

Sales Associate
E: dthielman@garagecentraal.com
T: 739-1974
               


Lizzette Koolman

Sales Associate
E: lkoolman@garagecentraal.com
T: 594-4900
               


Alex Dijkhoff

Sales Associate
E: adijkhoff@garagecentraal.com
T: 592-6075
               


Adolfo Gonzalez

Sales Associate
E: agonzalez@garagecentraal.com
T: 563-5074
               


Jerald Winterdal

Sales Associate
E: jwinterdal@garagecentraal.com
T: 660-2425
               

About Garage Centraal

The goal of Garage Centraal Aruba is simple: that everyone that needs a vehicle is able to have a vehicle that satisfies their needs and expectations, with expert service and parts support. That is why we offer brand new, award winning quality vehicles from Hyundai, Isuzu and Volkswagen, along with an extensive catalog of pre-owned vehicles.

We are open from 8:00am till 5:30pm on weekdays and saturday from 8:00 to 12:00pm. Come visit us or call us at 522-6200

Search